Kim Joo-hyung, the ‘rising star’ of the world golf world, is on his first win hunt this year against the world ranking ‘Big 3’.

The American Professional Golf (PGA) tour opens the WM Phoenix Open on the 9th (Korean time) at TPC Scottsdale (par 71), Arizona, USA. This tournament, which had a total prize money of 8.2 million dollars (about 10 billion won) last year, more than doubled to 20 million dollars (about 25.1 billion won) this year. The winning prize alone amounts to 3.6 million dollars (approximately 4.5 billion won). 먹튀검증

The significant increase in prize money this year is because the PGA Tour has designated 17 tournaments in the 2022-2023 season as “special events.” The LIV series, which was launched with the sponsorship of Saudi Arabian capital, presented ‘carrots’ to players to prevent top rankers from leaving, and the Phoenix Open was also included in the special competitions.

Although the prize money is large, the top rankers are virtually obliged to participate in the special competition, so the top rankers are all out in this competition. World No. 1 Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland) made the Phoenix Open his first PGA Tour event this year. 2nd place Scotty Scheffler (USA) and 3rd place Jon Lam (Spain) will also participate ‘of course’. This is the first time that all players ranked 1st to 3rd in this year’s rankings will participate. Among the top 20 players in the world rankings, 18 players, excluding Cameron Smith (4th, Australia), who belongs to the LIV series, and Will Jaratoris (8th, USA), who is a member of the PGA Tour but took a break, will participate.

Kim Joo-hyung (ranked 14th), the highest ranked Korean player, is aiming for his first win of the season. Kim Joo-hyung, who rose to stardom with two wins last year, coordinated his shot sense by tying for 5th in the Sentry Tournament of Champions, the opening game of this year, and 6th in the American Express. Lim Seong-jae (18th), who is on the rise after tying for 4th place in Farmers Insurance, this year’s Sony Open champion Kim Si-woo (42nd), and Lee Gyeong-hoon (41st), who finished runner-up in this competition in 2021, will also try to win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *